132 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 64
  • 4 Rating Star 39
  • 3 Rating Star 20
  • 2 Rating Star 5
  • 1 Rating Star 4

This is an easy one to make, and quick too! Toppings are great added at the table. Serve with all your baked potato favorites - chopped green onions, grated cheese, sour cream.

prep:
10 mins
cook:
15 mins
total:
25 mins
Servings:
5
Max Servings:
5
Advertisement

Ingredients

Directions

  • Microwave potatoes until done.

  • While potatoes are cooking make a roux over low to medium heat. Mix butter, margarine, or light olive oil, and flour. DO NOT BURN THE ROUX. When roux is thickened a bit, gradually blend in milk. Continue cooking over low to medium heat while preparing potatoes.

  • Peel and cut up potatoes. You may want to mash some of the potatoes also. Add potatoes to the milk mixture. Blend in sour cream. Soup is ready to be served.

Nutrition Facts

644.77 calories; 17.99 g protein; 95.41 g carbohydrates; 9.97 g dietary-fiber; 13.28 g sugars; 22.54 g fat; 14 g saturated-fat; 56.66 mg cholesterol; 1084.58 IU vitamin-a-iu; 9.52 mg niacin-equivalents; 1.39 mg vitamin-b6; 87.65 mg vitamin-c; 101.41 mcg folate; 356.37 mg calcium; 3.93 mg iron; 130.6 mg magnesium; 2248.73 mg potassium; 220.52 mg sodium; 0.54 mg thiamin; 202.87 calories-from-fat; 58 percent-of-calories-from-carbs; 30 percent-of-calories-from-fat; 10 percent-of-calories-from-protein; 19 percent-of-calories-from-sat-fat


Reviews (105)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

veggiemommie
01/20/2006
This is a good basic potato soup recipe and very easy to make. You can spice it up like many of the reviewers did or just serve it plain. I made only 3 slight changes. I used 2% milk and put in only 5 of the potatoes because it was very thick...more like a hearty potato stew.I also baked the potatoes in the oven. I don't care for microwaved potatoes. Next time I think I will add a cup of homemade chicken stock. I serve cream soups with "condiments" on the side-- like bacon cheeses or steamed broccoli with a variety of spices like garlic powder nutmeg or fresh pepper. That way my family can add whatever additions they like. With this potato soup I used a hand held blender to cream about 1/3 of the potato chunks. To make this soup more of a complete meal you can add cubes of baked chicken breasts and serve with a crisp green salad and fresh breadsticks. It was also good heated up and served on the second day. A great wintertime lunch.
(40)

Most helpful critical review

Anonymous
12/11/2003
Yuk! This tasted like bland glue. Definitely needs some spices to jazz it up.
(4)
132 Ratings
  • 5 Rating Star 64
  • 4 Rating Star 39
  • 3 Rating Star 20
  • 2 Rating Star 5
  • 1 Rating Star 4
Noeller67
03/01/2006
YUM! This was a GREAT soup but I can't give it 5 stars because it did need some help (after which it was great!) but as others have said the basic soup is a good base to build on. I roasted 1 entire head of garlic (about 10 cloves or so) and added it to the milk/roux combo along with one of the baked potatoes. I blended it with my immersion blender until creamy then added the rest of the potatoes. A little shredded cheddar on top and it was sooo good. We didn't even miss the sour cream (skipped it since the soup was already very thick) and also reduced the butter to 1/4 c instead of 1/3 c. I also ended up having to add another cup of milk since it was way too thick with just the 4 cups. Without the sour cream and reduced amount of butter this is actually a relatively healthy recipe! Definitely a keeper.
(98)
veggiemommie
01/20/2006
This is a good basic potato soup recipe and very easy to make. You can spice it up like many of the reviewers did or just serve it plain. I made only 3 slight changes. I used 2% milk and put in only 5 of the potatoes because it was very thick...more like a hearty potato stew.I also baked the potatoes in the oven. I don't care for microwaved potatoes. Next time I think I will add a cup of homemade chicken stock. I serve cream soups with "condiments" on the side-- like bacon cheeses or steamed broccoli with a variety of spices like garlic powder nutmeg or fresh pepper. That way my family can add whatever additions they like. With this potato soup I used a hand held blender to cream about 1/3 of the potato chunks. To make this soup more of a complete meal you can add cubes of baked chicken breasts and serve with a crisp green salad and fresh breadsticks. It was also good heated up and served on the second day. A great wintertime lunch.
(40)
Anonymous
11/09/2005
gotta tell you...this was a hit..even the kids loved it!! we added bacon garlic and spiced it up a little but talk about easy!! its a must try
(31)
Anonymous
12/27/2002
This was good but no wonder everyone loves it...nearly a stick of butter and a cup of sour cream! I used half the butter and used my immersion blender to cream one of the potatoes into the white sauce. Also used non-fat sour cream. Add spices after potatoes are added...salt pepper white pepper and a teaspoon of butter extract for flavor. 1/2 cup of wine and onions would be a nice addition.
(22)
Anonymous
11/07/2005
This is an awesome basic potato soup not runny or thin. I used whole milk and it was just touch too thick so I think I'll add some water in next time or follow the skim milk suggestion. I also added onion powder garlic powder and black pepper to the soup while it was cooking to spice it up a bit. Even my 5 year old enjoyed it and he has expressed his undying hatred for potato soup in the past. For that alone it deserves the highest marks!
(21)
Navy_Mommy
12/11/2003
Great recipe. Our family loves baked potato soup. Even my 18 month old. She ate a huge bowl. Because we like our soup loaded I added cheese and bacon to the soup. I also had to add some additional milk since my soup got too thick really a minor thing though.
(16)
Anonymous
12/11/2003
This was a great base for individual additions. I added chopped green onions crisp pancetta sliced cooked mushrooms small slices of fire roasted red peppers (jarred) and to some bowls crumbled blue cheese and to other bowls crumbled feta cheese. This is really a WOWER!
(13)
Anonymous
12/11/2003
This is a good basic soup but it needs "extras" to be really flavorful. With cheese added salt and bacon it would definitely get four stars.
(12)
Anonymous
12/11/2003
Simple to make in a short time and Tastes great! Good for the cold weather or just to have something different when you are extra hungry and need something filling. Steph B.:)
(11)