30 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 12
  • 4 star values: 15
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0

Power packed, fruity and nutty. Better than store-bought granola bars. Use any kind of dried fruit e.g. - chopped dates, chopped apricots, chopped prunes, etc.

Grits
Advertisement

Ingredients

12
Original recipe yields 12 servings
The ingredient list now reflects the servings specified

Directions

  • In a large saucepan or electric frying pan, combine sugar, butter, honey, water, and salt. Bring to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in oats, almonds, wheat germ, and sesame seeds. Cook, stirring frequently, for 15 minutes. Remove from heat and add fruits.

    Advertisement
  • Pour into a jelly roll pan lined with wax paper or parchment. Score deeply into bars of desired size. Allow to cool for 30 minutes. Break along score lines. Store in an airtight container.

Nutrition Facts

411 calories; 17.5 g total fat; 20 mg cholesterol; 257 mg sodium. 59.1 g carbohydrates; 8.7 g protein; Full Nutrition


Reviews (23)

Read All Reviews

Most helpful positive review

Rating: 5 stars
05/29/2003
Fantastic granola bars and fairly easy to make. I suggest that you flatten in into the pan ASAP when it's finished cooking otherwise they end up falling apart at the drop of a hat. I've made it with various combinations of dried fruit. Read More
(38)

Most helpful critical review

Rating: 3 stars
08/20/2007
WAY TOO SWEET! Read More
(13)
30 Ratings
  • 5 star values: 12
  • 4 star values: 15
  • 3 star values: 3
  • 2 star values: 0
  • 1 star values: 0
Rating: 5 stars
05/29/2003
Fantastic granola bars and fairly easy to make. I suggest that you flatten in into the pan ASAP when it's finished cooking otherwise they end up falling apart at the drop of a hat. I've made it with various combinations of dried fruit. Read More
(38)
Rating: 4 stars
12/04/2002
We really enjoyed this recipe....as granola. I couldn't get the bars to stay together so I just dumped it all into a Tupperware canister and used it as cereal in the morning. It had a great flavor (I used dried cranberries instead of the cherries and dates and I added walnuts). I've made it twice. Read More
(29)
Rating: 4 stars
09/16/2009
I modified these alot 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup honey 1/4 molassess so its not as sweet. Then 2 cups oats 1 cup sliced almonds 1/2 cup wheat bran 1/2 cup flaxseed 1/2 cup raw sunflower seed 1/2 cup textured veggie protein 1 cup dried goji 1/2 cup craisins. definitely simmer longer to help get tehm to stick together. easy to make and proabbly even btter with more practise. Read More
(21)
Advertisement
Rating: 3 stars
08/20/2007
WAY TOO SWEET! Read More
(13)
Rating: 4 stars
02/01/2003
These tasted good. They taste healthy. I had a hard time guadging doneness. First batch was underdone and chewy (I preferred them this way) they were also very crumbly and didn't "serve" well. The next batch I cooked longer hoping for a crisper bar that served nicely. They were a little too crispy but still okay. It was fun to try not the conventional way to make a cookie/bar. Read More
(6)
Rating: 4 stars
07/04/2005
These are pretty good. My 5 yr.old was able to help make them and he seems to like them and that was what I was going for. The only thing that I would change is to use less wheat germ next time. They taste very "germy" to me. I also added some flax seed along with the sesame seeds which were toasted. Read More
(5)
Advertisement
Rating: 5 stars
02/16/2010
Excellent recipe! I uploaded the picture of the bars prior to cutting them. I am a "clean" eater so I of course made some modifications. Instead of butter I used Smart Balance Light I swapped the honey for agave nectar and the brown sugar for sugar in the raw. I also added 1/2 cup of flax meal and only used dried cherries and cranberries because that is what I had on hand. Read More
(5)
Rating: 4 stars
10/27/2012
I am on a gluten-free diet so I used GF oats. I pretty much stuck to the recipe except I substituted Corn Syrup for the honey only because I didn't have enough honey on hand. I added toasted coconut left out the wheat germ (can't have it) increased the sesame seeds and added sunflower seeds. Used Craisens and raisens and almond slices. They are still cooling but I snitched a bite and they taste great. Not sure if they're going to stick together properly but they're just for me so I'm not terribly concerned. (Hubby can have some too if he likes! LOL) Read More
(4)
Rating: 4 stars
08/12/2008
These are amazingly delicious granola bars although they are more like a dessert than a snack. If I could figure out how to make them healthier I would make them again in an instant. Read More
(4)